School Logo

Westfields Infant School

Interactive bar

Get in touch

Contact Details


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Year R

The EYFS curriculum consists of seven areas of learning as follows:

Personal, social and emotional development – this area focuses on helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves and others.


Physical development – this involves providing opportunities for children to develop their co-ordination, control and movement. Children are also helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.


Communication and language – this area involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment and to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves, and to speak and listen in a range of situations.


Literacy – this involves encouraging children to begin to link sounds and letters, to begin to read and write.  Children at Westfields are taught phonics through a systematic programme called ‘Letters and Sounds’ and we follow a handwriting scheme called ‘Penpals’.


Mathematics – provides children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, spaces and measures.


Understanding the world – enabling children to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.


Expressive arts and design – children will be able to sing, dance and safely use a variety of materials to experiment with colour, design and texture.


A key feature of our early years curriculum is that children learn by playing and exploring in our caring nurturing environment.  Learning takes place both indoors and outdoors in our large, secure dedicated early years space. We ensure that activities are suited to your child’s unique needs and interests.